Reviews needed

New team needed for the following title:

Treatments for alopecia areata: a network meta-analysis

We are looking for a committed team with proven, recent experience of Cochrane review methods, and dedicated time to complete this high-priority review. Potential author teams must plan to adhere to the following deadlines:

Friday 8th February 2019

Commence Protocol development, following announcement of successful team.

Friday 9th August 2019

Submit Protocol to the editorial base, which adheres to Cochrane standards and can therefore be sent for peer review. Please note that substandard Protocols will be returned to authors by the Cochrane Skin editorial base, so that changes can be made prior to sending out for peer review. The deadline of 9th August 2019 is a deadline for acceptance of the Protocol as meeting the necessary requirements to be sent out for peer review.

Friday 12th October 2019

Following peer review, revised Protocol accepted for publication.

Friday 16th October 2020

Submit full Review to the editorial base, which adheres to Cochrane standards and can therefore be sent directly for peer review. Please note that substandard Reviews will be returned to authors by the Cochrane Skin editorial base, so that changes can be made prior to sending out for peer review. The deadline of 16th October 2020 is a deadline for acceptance of the Review as meeting the necessary requirements to be sent out for peer review.

The Cochrane Skin editorial team will offer enhanced support for authors undertaking these priority reviews, to help ensure adherence to this timeline. Our experienced team will arrange prompt peer review, including assessment by a complex review methodology specialist if required, and will assist you in ensuring you meet Cochrane methodology and reporting standards. Your completed protocol and review will be published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (part of the Cochrane Library), which has an impact factor of 6.754 (2017) and as you know is widely accessed and trusted by decision makers. 

If you are able to form a team interested in working on this title, please complete our title registration form.  

Our deadline for receiving applications is Thursday 31st January 2019.  We will notify the successful team by Friday 8th February.


In 2017 we undertook a large-scale prioritisation exercise, in line with central Cochrane methodologies, to determine a small number of priority titles for the next two years. This exercise was in response to the direction of travel indicated by Cochrane centrally towards fewer, high priority, high quality reviews produced in a timely manner, that will enable us to best utilise the limited capacity of the editorial base whilst providing the most valuable reviews for our stakeholders.

More information about the process can be found here.

In September 2017 we announced seven priority titles that we would like to work on over the next two years, some existing titles and some brand new:

1.    Interventions for pruritus of unknown cause (protocol)

2.    Treatments for severe drug reactions (protocol)

3.    Network meta-analysis of topical eczema treatments (new title)

4.    Network meta-analysis of systemic eczema treatments (new title)

5.    Interventions for folliculitis and boils (protocol)

6.    Treatments for alopecia areata: a network meta-analysis (new team needed)

7.    Educational programmes for primary prevention of skin cancer (withdrawn)

Replaced by 'Interventions for basal cell carcinoma of the skin' (ongoing)