Reviews needed

We are pleased to announce the results of a large-scale prioritisation exercise, which we have undertaken in line with central Cochrane methodologies, to determine a small number of priority titles for the next two years. This exercise is in response to the direction of travel indicated by Cochrane centrally towards fewer, high priority, high quality reviews produced in a timely manner, that will enable us to best utilise the limited capacity of the editorial base whilst providing the most valuable reviews for our stakeholders.

More information about the process can be found here.

In September 2017 we have seven priority titles that we would like to work on over the next two years, some existing titles and some brand new:

1.    Interventions for pruritus of unknown cause (new title)

2.    Treatments for severe drug reactions (in progress)

3.    Network meta-analysis of topical eczema treatments (new title)

4.    Network meta-analysis of systemic eczema treatments (new title)

5.    Interventions for folliculitis and boils (new title)

6.    Interventions for alopecia areata (update in progress)

7.    Educational programmes for primary prevention of skin cancer (in progress)

We are now looking for teams to take on these new high-priority titles, which are: 

- Interventions for pruritus of unknown cause; 

- Network meta-analysis of topical eczema treatments;

- Network meta-analysis of systemic eczema treatments; and

- Interventions for folliculitis and boils. 

We are looking for committed teams with proven, recent experience of Cochrane review methods, and dedicated time to complete these high-priority reviews. Potential author teams must plan to adhere to the following deadlines:

Friday 17th November 2017

Commence Protocol development, following announcement of successful teams.

Friday 16th March 2018

Submit Protocol to the editorial base, which adheres to Cochrane standards and can therefore be sent for peer review. Please note that substandard Protocols will be returned to authors by the Cochrane Skin editorial base, so that changes can be made prior to sending out for peer review. The deadline of 16th March 2018 is a deadline for acceptance of the Protocol as meeting the necessary requirements to be sent out for peer review.

Friday 18th May 2018

Following peer review, revised Protocol accepted for publication.

Friday 17th May 2019

Submit full Review to the editorial base, which adheres to Cochrane standards and can therefore be sent directly for peer review. Please note that substandard Reviews will be returned to authors by the Cochrane Skin editorial base, so that changes can be made prior to sending out for peer review. The deadline of 17th May 2019 is a deadline for acceptance of the Review as meeting the necessary requirements to be sent out for peer review.

The Cochrane Skin editorial base will offer enhanced support for authors undertaking these priority reviews, to help ensure adherence to this timeline. Our experienced team will arrange prompt peer review, including assessment by a complex review methodology specialist if required, and will assist you in ensuring you meet Cochrane methodology and reporting standards. Your completed protocol and review will be published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (part of the Cochrane Library), which has an impact factor of 6.124 (2016) and as you know is widely accessed and trusted by decision makers. 

If you are able to form a team interested in working on one of these titles, please complete our title registration form which can be downloaded from the panel on the left. If you are an individual interested in working on a particular title but cannot form a team, please email us telling us which review and what skills and experience you can bring to a team. We will then connect you with others keen to work on the same review title, if this is appropriate.

Our deadline for receiving applications is Friday 10th November 2017.  We will notify successful teams by Friday 17th November.